In-laws, horns and Polenta cake from Dragon Den`s Kitty O`Byrnes

In-laws, horns and Polenta cake

blog-palentacake

My very lovely in-laws have a marvelous expression which usually pops up late at night. Playing cards. Trying to win. Certainly trying not to lose.

It goes like this ‘I’m on the horns of a dilemma‘. It is the most perfect expression really that just about sums up many situations.

And that’s exactly where I was earlier today. I had lots of boring grown up things to do like housework, admin and filing. Tons of filing! None of which are much fun on a Bank Holiday weekend.

Especially when the sun is shining. Even more so when it’s been raining all week.

But rather than getting stuck in, I was stuck and distracted!

This distraction was rather loudly screaming from my kitchen in the form of a new bag of polenta and a punnet of bulging blueberries. They were totally in cahoots with each other in a bid to drag me away from grown-up-stuff! Add to this the fresh pot of much loved Greek yogurt in the fridge and olive oil in the cupboard and I was bursting to put them all together.

As they say in my in-laws house, I was totally on the horns of a dilemma.

I didn’t know quite what I wanted to make. All I knew was that I wanted something gluten free, moist and dense, not overly-sweet with those beautiful plump blueberries bleeding through whatever it was I was yet to make. There was still the issue of the things I needed to get done. But here’s the thing, guilt is truly a waste of energy and sure it would take less energy anyway to get something in the oven!

So after a very grown up self-talking-to, I realised, the work would go so much sweeter with something lovely to nibble on.

I dug out my measuring cups, a joy when I really don’t wish to measure things (one less thing to do) and with a bit of hopeful culinary calculations, I reckoned the following would work.

blog-palentacake2

Polenta cake ~the how to:-

Mix 3 eggs, 3/4 cup olive oil and 1 cup yogurt (I used Greek) and add to dry ingredients

Dry 1 cup each of polenta, ground almonds, desiccated coconut and caster sugar – mix well

Pour the batter into a 9″ greased lined tin over a scattering of blueberries

Top with more blueberries. Middle shelf, 170c for 30 mins. Cool in tin, dust with icing sugar!

blog-palentacake5

I sometimes like to syrup cakes but glad I didn’t do that here as this cake really is moist. The mix of coconut and ground almonds with the polenta give a textured crumb, so if fluffy is your thing, this cake may not be for you. Having said that, this is surprisingly light and where I would often be looking for a dollop or two of cream, it’s really not needed here.

blog-palentacake4

So did I get all my jobs done? Nope besides, tomorrow is another day and I have plenty of cake to keep me going. Horns packed way and today’s dilemma solved

http://kittyobyrnes.ie 

Member of www.mompreneursireland.com

Food

A selection of whats coming from Kitty’s kitchen…SOON
 

Kittys Sauces...

 

Leave a Reply

