First shortlist for the #RaboTweeties announced and we are Nominated!

First #RaboTweeties shortlist announced - @tomhappens, @vickinotaro & @AbiePB will host the awards

Tom Dunne (@tomhappens), Vicki Notaro (@vickinotaro) and Abie Philbin Bowman (@AbiePB) have been announced as the hosts of the inaugural #RaboTweeties – an awards show that aims to celebrate the popularity and influence of Twitter and its users. The hosts today announced the first shortlist of nominees as voted by the tweeters of Ireland.

While Tom and Vicki will host the awards ceremony and announce the winners on the night, Abie will be manning the ‘#vinb stage’ – a part of the show that looks at the funny, more anarchic and potentially ‘dangerous’ side of Twitter. The #RaboTweeties MCs were hand-picked to host the event as a result of their clear understanding of the power and reach of Twitter.

Voting has gotten off to a euphoric start for the first Irish awards show of its kind. The#RaboTweeties today announced the first shortlist of nominees as voted upon by the Irish public. (See below for details of the first shortlist)

To vote, Twitter users simply describe who or what they want to vote for, include the Twitter handle and include the relevant category hashtag. For example to vote for Brian O’Driscoll in the sports category, a simple tweet with his handle – @BrianODriscoll – and the hashtag #TweetieSport would put him in the running.

“We want it to be a unique awards show, from the people who attend to the people who vote. Each award and award winner should trend on Twitter, as will the night itself, which will have many surprises and treats in store for the few hundred who attend,” says Stephen Conmy, event organiser.

Twitter now has over 600 million registered users generating over 350 million tweets a day and handling over 1.6 billion search queries per day. A recent Ipsos MRBI survey in Ireland suggests over one in five Irish people have a Twitter account and over 81,000 of these use the service daily.

The full shortlist will be announced on the 18th September, so keep an eye on @rabotweeties for all the latest updates.

The Tweeties will be held at The Odeon, Harcourt St., Dublin on Wednesday, October 2nd. Ticketsare on sale now – visit


The most popular Irish celebrity on Twitter – #TweetieCeleb – sponsored by MailOnline – @Mailonline
Amy Huberman – @amyhuberman
Marian Keyes – @MarianKeyes
Nicky Byrne – @nickybyrneoffic
Chris O’Dowd – @BigBoyler
Niall Horan – @NiallOfficial

Entertainment & humour – #TweetieFunny
Colm Tobin – @colmtobin
Ross O’Carroll Kelly – @RossOCK
Irish Mammies – @irishmammies
Dawn O’Porter – @hotpatooties
Dara ó Briain – @daraobriain

Music – #TweetieMusic
Kodaline – @Kodaline
The Coronas – @TheCoronas
Golden Plec – @GoldenPlec
The Script – @thescript
Warner Music Ireland – @warnermusicirl

News & media – #TweetieNews
The – @thejournal_ie
Gareth O’Connor – @garethoconnor
Extratime News – @ExtratimeNews
Rick O’Shea – @rickoshea
SPIN 1038 – @spin1038

Television – #TweetieTV
Tonight with Vincent Brown – #vinb
Prime Time – #rtept
Heineken Cup – #HeinekenCup
The Voice – #TheVoice
The Sunday Game – #RTESundayGame

Sport – #TweetieSport
Brian O’Driscoll – @BrianODriscoll
Sean St Ledger – @seanstledger12
WWE Sheamus – @WWESheamus
GAA Scores – @GAAScores
IRFU Rugby – @irfurugby
Dublin Match Tracker – @DubMatchTracker
Cork GAA – @OfficialCorkGAA
Rory Mcilroy – @McIlroyRory
Setanta Sports – @SetantaSports – @thescore_ie

Charity – #TweetieCharity
Laura Lynn House – @LauraLynnHouse
Amnesty Ireland – @AmnestyIreland
Irish Kidney Association – @IrishKidneyAs
Fighting Blindness – @fightingblindness
Foroige – @Foroige
Baby Max Wings of Love – @BABYMAXFund
National Council of the Blind in Ireland – @NCBI_sightloss
Diabetes Ireland – @Diabetes_ie

Business – #TweetieBusiness sponsored by @sageireland
UPC Ireland – @UPCIreland
Mompreneursireland – @Mompreneurire – @DoneDeal
BodyFirst – @bodyfirst_ie
Ciana Aspell – @CianaAspell

Technology – #TweetieTech
Realex Payments – @realexpayments
Archipelago – @archipelago_ie
Will Goodbody – @willgoodbody
Adrian Weckler – @adrianweckler
Silicon Republic – @siliconrepublic

Food & drink – #TweetieFood sponsored by The Dining Room
Saba Dublin – @SabaDublin
Stephen Gibson of Pichet – @stephenskitchen
BITE Dublin – @BITEDublin
Brasserie Sixty6 – @brasseriesixty6
Tom Doorley – @TomDoorley

Inspiration – #TweetieInspire
Donal Walsh – @Donal_Walsh_ & @DonalLiveLife
Samantha Kelly – @TweetingGoddess
Professor John Crown – @ProfJohnCrown
John Quinlivan – @quinlivan
Great Mind Quotes – @GreatestQuotes

Fashion – #TweetieFashion – sponsored by iClothing
The Gloss Magazine – @TheGlossMag
Joan Cashman – @colourandimage
Holly Carpenter – @Holly0910
Rosemary MacCabe – @RosemaryMacCabe – @beautie

Photo & photographers – #TweetiePic
Barry McCall – @BarryMcCallFoto – @PhotoIreland
John Murray – @JMPhotodub
Val – @magnumlady
Gabriel Morehead – @gm_photo

Literature & writing – #TweetieWriter
Graham Linehan – @Glinner
Marian Keyes – @MarianKeyes
Today in Irish History – @irelandhistory
National Library of Ireland – @NLIreland
Cecelia Ahern – @Cecelia_Ahern

Politics – #TweetiePolitics
Ciaran Cannon – @ciarancannon
Jonny Fallon – @jonnyfallon
Colm Keaveney T.D.- @Colm_Keaveney
Ken Curtin – @kencurtin
Fionnan Sheahan – @fionnansheahan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s