Getting the Balance Right by Purity Belle founder Cliona

I have been thinking about this a lot recently for many reasons. Firstly I’m a parent which automatically cuts ‘me time’ to a minimum! Then factor in a 3 day nine to five job and my candle business and there’s not much left over at all 🙂

I read an article the other day describing the characteristics of successful women and was struck by the fact that making time for themselves was a factor common to all. Is it that you think better and perform better if you have time to relax? Or perhaps that in order to be successful, you become more adept at organising your time and energy?
I suppose I’ve felt for a long time that I have to be working every spare minute and available all the time in case I miss an opportunity or fall behind.  Inevitably though, this creates stress and worry, and a feeling that I don’t have enough time for my family or myself.
Also I can’t forget to mention the demon Smartphone syndrome – I find myself checking emails late at night and early in the morning, updating Facebook and having a browse through pinterest and sending the odd tweet. Then there’s Instagram, Word games (which I love!), LinkedIn – the list is endless!
With all that in mind and despite the fact that I will have loads of work to do in the coming months, I’ve decided to carve out a little bit more time for myself. Also I’ll be doing my best to set aside some screen free time – my daughter attends a Waldorf school – Kildare Steiner School which has a big emphasis on minimum screen time and maximum outdoor /hands on time. I’m feeling at the moment that we’d all be better off with less time on devices and more time talking/interracing with one another
Please let me know if you have any tips or can relate 🙂
Maybe we all need some time to appreciate the little things –
About Cliona
I am a mum of two living in Kilcullen, Co. Kildare. I love gardening and I’m passionate about preserving and caring for our environment. In a funny way, this led to me being a candlemaker – hating to see old remnants of candles lying about, I melted them down to create new ones. Then, as I became more proficient, I really wanted to perfect them and make the scent beautiful and the candle long lasting. I try to always produce a candle that is excellent quality but also good value and many of my candles come in containers that be be used again indefinitely!

Leave a Reply

